Seminar on Youth’s Agenda for the Next Philippine Administration

The University of the Philippines Diliman’s Department of Political Science in partnership with the Philippines National Commission for UNESCO held the first leg of the Youth’s Agenda for the Next Philippine Administration: A Seminar-Workshop last 04 April 2016 at Palma Hall 207, UP Diliman.

Around fifty students from universities such as the Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Muntinlupa, Ateneo de Manila University, University of Asia and the Pacific, Polytechnic University of the Philippines Manila, Trinity University of Asia, and the University of the Philippines Diliman gathered to participate in the discussion on the existence of a Filipino youth agenda and how it can and will shape the upcoming national and local elections.

The seminar-workshop was opened by Dr. Grace Aguiling - Dalisay, Dean of the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy, and Dr. Virginia Miralao, Secretary-General of the Philippines National Commission for UNESCO.

During the first plenary session, Dr. Jorge V. Tigno, chairperson of the Department of Political Science, UP Diliman, gave some general pointers on Democracy, Elections, and the Youth, and asked pertinent questions such as “Is the youth vote a sector vote?” Meanwhile, Dr. Jean Encinas-Franco, Assistant Professor of the Department of Political Science, UP Diliman, discussed the importance of an agenda and how it is produced and processed.

After the plenary sessions, several professors from the same department, namely Dr. Maria Ela Atienza, Dr. Ruth Lusterio-Rico, Dr. Jean Paul Zialcita, Dr. Aries Arugay, Prof. Dennis Quilala, and Prof. Jan Robert Go, conducted concurrent workshops on disaster management, environment, migration, foreign policy, peace, and education, respectively, to discuss with students the current situation of the Philippines in terms of these topics, and enable them to craft guidelines for their fellow youth on how to choose their leaders.

The seminar-workshop was moderated by Assistant Professor Francis Joseph Dee and Assistant Professor Celine Socrates. The second leg will be held in Legazpi City, Albay, in April, following the annual Philippine Political Science Association International Conference.